________________________

 Terra Martin

 

adopted…

still the dim cameo

of mother’s face

gingerly I transplant

the wild violet

 

 

when dropped

my heart’s like quicksilver

spilling

into wayward beads

of shiny sorrow

 

 

no wind

but the aspen

trembles

after hinting for more…

you slowly exhale

 

 

the improv

of the saxophone 

as vast, as a sky  

composed of every tone

of blue

 

 

as carefully

as wandering

through backwoods

I explore your

impatient mood

 

 

hazy

like an old photo

your death…

still in focus

the time we captured

 

 

as a child 

I dreamt in color

never grasping

the world

of black and white

 

 

clearly

the eyebrow moon

raised 

brings back your

betrayal

 

 

dancing

around your words

I waltz

in and out of

kiss and make-up

 

 

if I were a tree

with roots firmly planted

would I outgrow

my beliefs

that limit change

 
___________________________________________________________ 

Terra Martin is a practicing therapist in Toronto . Her poetry has been published  in Amaze, American Tanka, Asahi Shimbun (Japan), Atlas Poetica, bottle rockets, Eucalypt (Australia), Green Leaf Files (England), Haiga Online, Lynx, Modern English Tanka, moonset, Ribbons, Simply Haiku, 3 Lights Gallery (England), Landfall, Streetlights and The Tanka Prose anthologies. 

   

____________________________________________________________________________________

